Welcome!

Posted: November 12, 2012 in Sounds, Sunshine, Words
Tags: , , , , ,

The Sound of Music taught me from a young age that starting at the very beginning is a very good place to start. So here we go.

I was born into family of bookworms and music enthusiasts so it made sense that I would grow up to become these things myself. Since learning to read I have always had my nose in some book or another and I like to think my personal library is quite enviable, if only for its size rather than its contents. I am a sucker for young-adult fiction but I’ll give just about anything a shot, though I hate nothing more than being disappointed by a book. Book stores are some of my favourites, though I often have to drag myself away from them , knowing that if I go in I will buy something whether I can really afford to or not.

Covers catch my eye, blurbs peak my interest, stories capture my heart. Well, most of the time.

I hold my parents mostly responsible for my love of music, especially my Dad. He introduced me to music way back when I was a baby waking up in the early hours of the morning. Rage was his best friend back then and as I got older, music became mine. It was my security blanket and teddy bear – I could never sleep without it. I started my CD collection at eight, and haven’t looked back since. In fact, the only CD I can recall ever throwing away was Hanson’s Christmas album. Let’s just pretend I never owned that one.

Though my tastes have changed quite dramatically over the years, I can honestly say I enjoy most artists and genres, but of course I have my favourites. I have a special place in my heart, and my collection, for Australian artists trying to make a name for themselves. I support my local music scene and cannot wait to introduce you to some talented, but relatively unheard of, musicians. I spend most of my money on concert tickets and would spend every night watching live music if I could.

With all of this in mind, it made sense to me to start a blog where I could write about my life’s greatest loves – books, music and any other things I feel passionate about at any given moment.

So, welcome to Words, Sounds and Sunshine!

Leave a Reply!

