Words & Sounds: 2012 review.

Posted: December 30, 2012 in Sounds, Words
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Now that we have all had our fill of Christmas cheer – excess food consumed, presents given and received, all of those leftovers still haunting us each time we open the fridge – I thought this post-Christmas, pre-new year period would be the perfect time for an overview of my favourite (or perhaps, least favourite) words and sounds of 2012. If I am totally honest, I’m not sure I remember every single book I read, or CD I bought this year, but we’ll see how I go. Maybe next year I will keep better track!

Things like this are always best compiled and shared in list form. So here goes!

Words (books)

Looking for Alaska by John Green: After reading about this book on Tumblr for months and asking in every bookstore within a reasonable distance from my home when they were getting more copies in, I finally got my hands on Looking For Alaska. It really was as fantastic as people were saying and I absolutely loved it. I am currently re-reading it and I definitely recommend it.  

Lord of the Flies: Somehow I missed out on having to read this in high school and now that I’ve read it in my own time, I’m kind of glad about that. It was worth the read – it is a classic after all – but it took me a while to get into it and at times it was quite hard to read. Not as hard as A Clockwork Orange, of course, but that was in a different language! I think the lessons to be learned from the book were more interesting than the story itself.

Delirium by Lauren Oliver: Having reviewed this book not long ago, you know how I feel about it. If not, check out my review here. Watch out for my review of the sequel, Pandemonium¸ coming soon!

Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed by E. L James : The series I swore I would never read, but somehow enjoyed. You can find my review here. Even if you haven’t read the series, I can guarantee you’ll get some entertainment out of what I had to say about it!

Paper Towns by John Green: My second John Green experience. I didn’t enjoy this as much as Looking For Alaska, which was a little bit disappointing, but it was still worth the read. A compelling story, but I wasn’t particularly fond of the ending. Have recently purchased The Fault in Our Stars. Going in with high expectations!

Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares: The fifth and final novel in the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants series that I was surprised to come across since I thought the series had ended with the fourth book. As a huge fan of the series, I am glad that this book was written as it is the perfect ending I never expected to read, even if it did make me incredibly emotional.

Eat, Pray, Love
by Elizabeth Gilbert:
I won’t say that I regret reading this, but I did find chunks of it incredibly boring. I skimmed through entire chapters and was quite relieved to reach the end.  

Juliet Naked by Nick Earls: I’ve been a fan of Nick Earls since I read 48 Shades of Brown in grade 11 English. Like 48 Shades, Juliet Naked  did not disappoint. With a heavy musical influence it was right down my alley. One of my best finds of 2012.

 

Sounds (music)

I’m not going to describe each one of these, but the fact that I am listing them is a sure sign that I believe they are definitely worth taking the time to listen to.

Southern Air – Yellowcard

Persona Non Grata – Strangers (Australian band)

No Apologies – Heroes For Hire (Australian band)

Hey Geronimo (EP) – Hey Geronimo (Australian band)

Kids in the Street – All American Rejects

Weapons – Lostprophets

Periphery II: This Time It’s Personal – Periphery

Dead Silence – Billy Talent

Vital – Anberlin

Don’t Panic – All Time Low

 

Leave a Reply!

