Music Monday: Song of the Week #3

Posted: January 1, 2013 in Sounds
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So this is the new year. And I don’t feel any different…

At this time of year I always find myself listening to Death Cab For Cutie’s ‘Transatlanticism’ album because of this song, The New Year.

I discovered Death Cab sometime during 2003/2004 when The OC was the ‘it’ show on television and main character Seth Cohen regularly cited them as his favourite band. Despite my love of ‘Transatlanticism’, I can honestly say I haven’t listened to anything the band has released since then. Maybe it’s because of Seth and the fact the show rarely, if ever, featured any Death Cab songs that weren’t off this particular album. Or maybe it has more to do with how this album – and this song – makes me feel.

As strange as it may sound, I have always just kind of got this album. And when I say that I mean that I listen to it, and I understand. I get the lyrics, I get what the songs are about, and I can relate to them. And this song in particular continues to sum up my first day of each new year.

Give it a listen. If you like it, find the album. You won’t regret it.

Happy New Year everyone!

Leave a Reply!

