Music Monday: Song of the Week #5

Posted: January 14, 2013 in Sounds
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There has always been an abundance of talented musicians in Australia but it has only been over the past three or four years that I have really taken notice of it. In that time I have discovered many amazing bands and I’m finding new ones to fall in love with all the time.

One of my first discoveries, back in 2009, were Melbourne rockers Stealing O’Neal. This song, Hometown, is from their debut album – which was, sadly, their only album – titled: “Don’t Sleep”. I do apologise for the video quality, but unfortunately it was the best one I could find.

It saddens me that I only had the opportunity to see this band live a few times before they announced their split, but at least I did get to go to those few shows. Despite the fact that they aren’t writing new music or performing together anymore, I still encourage you to seek out “Don’t Sleep” and give it a listen. In particular, Catchafire (track five)  is worth taking a few minutes out of your day for. The lyrics are powerful and it is probably my second favourite Stealing O’Neal song.

Leave a Reply!

