Music Monday: Song of the Week 20

Posted: June 10, 2013 in Sounds
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I went through my rap, hip-hop and R&B phase in early high school. I’m not sure if everyone has one of these phases, or if it was brought on by the people I was hanging around with at the time, but it happened. I was in love with Nelly and Usher and would rap into my hairbrush in front of the mirror like I was far from the whitest girl I knew, even though I absolutely was.

The phase passed, just as my Spice Girls obsession had years earlier, and other than the odd bit of Eminem I never really listened to that sort of music again because I no longer had any interest in it.

Well…that was until Jay-Z, Kanye West and Niggas in Paris happened. Damn this song for being so addictive that I just can’t stop listening to it!

*language warning*

Happy Monday!

Comments
  1. I had my Hip hop and Rap phase in HS, back when Rap was not garbage, back when it was biggie vs Tupac, that was when rap was at the top of its game. I don’t consider Jay-Z rap, or even hip hop I think he is more main stream, at the same time as odd as it may seem I went through my grunge rock phase thanks to Nirvana. In my HS days I say the deaths of 3 of the most brilliant artists ever in Kurt Cobain Tu-pac and Biggie. Yes, keep laughing I know I’m old.

Leave a Reply!

